Friday, February 27, 2009

Classification of diseases


Dear Readers,

The influence of western culture is increasing at an alarming pace in India, our motherland. One of the best examples of this is the celebration of various ‘days’ by the youth; be it friendship day or valentines day or mothers day; the list is just endless. The people of our country are falling prey to the influence of western culture. They have forgotten the significance of our country and our culture. Hinduism is the oldest existing culture in the history of mankind. And it has sustained itself even today only because of it’s robust principles and traditions. Hence we, the members of Radhekrishna Sathsangam urge all our readers to generate a thirst and curiosity to know more about the glorious Hindu culture and it’s components. And for that same purpose, we have brought the blog on Science and Hinduism so that we can dispense information about our Hindu culture through it. The blog has successfully completed more than four years and it is a modest attempt from our side to spread more and more awareness about hinduism through this medium.

In this post we begin with a new topic. Below are a few shloka’s from the Sushruta Samahita:

Tacca dukham trivdham aadhyaatmika
aadhibhautikam aadhidaivikamiti

They (the classification of diseases by origin) are of three types – exogenous, endogenous, psychic or natural.

Tattu saptavidhe vyaadhaavupanipatati. Te
punah saptavidhaa vyadhyah. Tadyathaa
aadibalapravrttaah janmabalapravrttaah
dosabalapravrttaah sanghatabalapravrttaah
kalabalapravrttaah daivabalapravrttaah
svabhavabalapravrttaah iti.

Diseases are of three types – endogenous, exogenous and cosmic. They fall under seven categories of diseases. What are the seven categories, we will see in the next posting.

Section II: Information on Indian herbs

In this post, let us know about the herb named Jhau in Hindi (Tamarix Gallica) in Latin.
1. It is a plant that grows to the height of about two metres

2. It has leaves resembling those of a fir tree

3. It grows mostly on the banks of the rivers in the basin of the Yamuna

4. It’s leaves and wood are specifically useful for bringing the enlarged spleen to it’s normal size

5. It’s decoction also prevents prolapse of the anus

6. It’s fruit known as Mayaphal has the quality of stopping bleeding

7. Salts extracted from the ashes of the plant contain appreciable quantities of iron and cobalt

Till the next forthnight… Radhekrishna!!

Sarvam Guruvaarpanam

Wednesday, February 04, 2009

Eight Branches of Ayurveda



Dear Readers,
Radhekrishna to one and all!

Continuing the thread from our previous post, let us take a look at the descriptions of the remaining four branches of Ayurveda.

5. Bhuta + vidya Graha Chikitsa: Graha Chikitsa is that branch or sub-division that mainly deals with the management of psychological disorders of human beings produced as a result of invasion by some evil spirits.

6. Kaumara + brtyakam Baala chikitsa: As the name suggests, it is that branch of Ayurveda which deals with children. The diseases suffered by children and the treatment given for curing is Balachikitsa.

7. Rasayanam Jara Chikitsa: Jara Chikitsa or the rejuvenating therapy is that which promotes rejuvenation in a healthy person and cures the disease of a diseased person.

8. Vajikaranam Vrishya Chikitsa: Vrishya Chikitsa is the branch of ayurvedic treatment which includes drugs that are mainly used for improving fertility and a study of aphrodisiacs. These drugs also increase the strength and stamina of the person. All this is included in Vrishya Chikitsa.

Now let us move on to our next section.

Section II : Information about Indian herbs

The herb for this forth night is known as Oont Katara in Hindi; Camel’s Thistle in English and Echinops Echinatus in Latin.

· It’s a thorny plant growing to the height of one metre

· It is the favourite food of camels

· Juice of it’s flowers relieves night blindness

· Its bark is a specific cure for coughs, fevers and dropsy

· The root of this plant boiled in milk acts as a aphrodisiac

We will take up a new topic in our next post. Till then Radhekrishna!

Sarvam Guruvaarpanam

Eight branches of Ayurveda


Dear Readers,
Radhekrishna to all!

We hope that our readers have maintained their respective new year resolutions taken with tons of enthusiasm. We also hope that our readers have started devoting a small portion of time every day for doing Namajapam.

Coming to our articles, you have known the eight specialties of Ayurveda in the last article. In this post, we will describe those eight specialties in detail.

1. Kaya Chikitsa: Kaya means the living human body, which includes body and mind both. It includes both, the visible body as well as the subtle body. Kayachikitsa is that medicinal branch which includes all the diseases situated in the body like fever.

2. Sala – Saalaakyam (Urdhvanga Chikitsa): Urdhvanga means the organs situated above the neck and the treatment of eyes, ears, nose, throat and head is Urdhvanga chikitsa or shalakya.

3. Salya + apa + hartrkam (Shalya Chikitsa): Shalya Chikitsa is the branch of ancient Indian surgery that describes in detail about the pre-operative procedures, general procedures, post-operative procedures, marma’s (vital points) and also about anesthesia. The description of the types of bandages, shastra (sharp instruments), yantras (blunt instruments), and sutures (stitches) has been described in this branch.

4. Visha + gara + vairodhika + pra + samanam (Damastra Chikitsa): Damastra chikitsa is the branch which includes the science of poison.

…. to be continued

Section II : Information about Indian herbs

Coming to our section on Indian herbs, the herb we will tell you about is named Machhechi Booti (Hindi).

· It’s a small spreading herb growing in ponds when they start drying up in the summer heat.

· It’s a good remedy for piles

· It is also used in prescriptions for salves and ointments for drying up wounds

That concludes the post for this forth night.

Sarvam Guruvaarpanam

Vigyaana Vedhaa Design by Insight © 2009